AudioFile - Find your next great audiobook
Get our Newsletter

MOTL, THE CANTOR'S SON

Earphones Award Winner

by | Read by Isaiah Sheffer

Fiction • 2.5 hrs. • Unabridged • ©

Sholem Aleichem is known for FIDDLER ON THE ROOF, but Yiddish literature's most beloved writer produced far more, and his work has been translated into many languages. This title describes the life that Eastern European immigrants faced in coming to and living in America. Aleichem's only book about American life and the immigrant experience is a treasure made more valuable by Isaiah Sheffer's brilliant reading. Sheffer, a former Yiddish actor, understands Aleichem and his characters, capturing every nuance of accent, tone, and emotion with clarity and joy. This is a perfect book for fans of Aleichem and Yiddish literature, as well as for listeners seeking their first experience with either. D.J.S. Winner of AudioFile Earphones Award (c) AudioFile 2003, Portland, Maine [Published: DEC 03/JAN 04]

Advertisement

Formats

Retail pak • National Yiddish Book Center • 2003

CD ISBN 0675033065 $20.00 • Two CDs

Get our Newsletter
Connect with AudioFile
envelope

AudioFile Newsletter

Sign up to receive FREE email newsletters from AudioFile. Get audiobook recommendations and reviews straight to your inbox.

×

Thank you for signing up.

×

Thanks!

Thank you for contacting us!

Our group will review and follow up within 72 hours.
Thanks for your interest!

Back Home ×