Earphones Award Winner

by Irene Nemirovsky | Read by Daniel Oreskes, Barbara Rosenblat

Fiction • 13.25 hrs. • Unabridged • © 2006

These recently rediscovered opening sections of a planned five-part novel by Irene Nemirovsky, who died in Auschwitz in 1942, are cause for rejoicing and for deep mourning for what was lost. Daniel Oreskes reads the first novella, a bleak human comedy of Parisians fleeing the city in chaos, rather pointlessly, it turns out, as the Wehrmacht arrives. Barbara Rosenblat performs the second, in which many characters from the first reappear, about the sometimes subtle, sometimes violent tensions in a French farm village under German occupation, as conquerors and conquered, aristocrats and peasants interact in unaccustomed ways. This is complex, polished, and moving work by Nemirovsky, who must have written at breakneck speed, and by two incomparable actors, a virtually flawless production that will repay multiple listenings. B.G. Winner of AudioFile Earphones Award, 2007 Audies Award Finalist © AudioFile 2006, Portland, Maine [Published: AUG/ SEP 06]



Trade Ed. • Random House Audio • 2013

DD ISBN 9780804148726 $22.50


Thank you for contacting us!

Our group will review and follow up within 72 hours.
Thanks for your interest!

Back Home ×

Get Access to All AudioFile Reviews 
and Features

View any review or feature FREE on the AudioFile Website.

Sign up now and get your Web Pass to...

  • Read online reviews hot off the digital press
  • Listen to sound clips
  • Find Earphone Award winners
  • Access and search thousands of audiobook reviews

It's simple and FREE. Takes only a few seconds and no credit card needed.

Already a subscriber?

We've updated our subscriber log-in system. Please give us your email, and you will continue to have full access to the digital editions and the AudioFile Web site.