AudioFile - Find your next great audiobook
Get our Newsletter

PATTON A Genius for War

by | Read by Jack Perkins, et al

Biography & Memoir • 1.5 hrs. • Audio Program • ©

General George Patton is one of the individuals profiled in a new audiobooks series, Biography, adapted from A & E Television Networks. The others, Nostradamus, Harry S. Truman and Jesus, are also the subjects for this interesting series. These are original audio programs made to inform and entertain--they make no pretense about being literature or having book-based origins. In the tradition of Ken Burns's THE CIVIL WAR and BASEBALL, these biographies draw a picture with timelines, quotations, and recollections from authors and acquaintances. Patton begins with his family tree and the military ancestry that instilled his sense of destiny. Jack Perkins, host from the television series, guides listeners through the program. Several men who served with Patton, as well as historians, add to the mix of voices chronicling his rise through the military to his triumph as commander of the 3rd Army in 1944. The program is very effective, much like a TV documentary, but without the visual effects listeners concentrate more on the events and reflections. Listeners should note the careful attention paid to the production: Restraint with sound effects and equalization of the various voices are particularly important for listening in cars. R.F.W. ©AudioFile, Portland, Maine [Published: OCT 97]

Advertisement

Formats

Airbox pak • A & E AudioBooks • 1997

CS ISBN 076700003X $9.95 • One cassettes

Get our Newsletter
Connect with AudioFile
envelope

AudioFile Newsletter

Sign up to receive FREE email newsletters from AudioFile. Get audiobook recommendations and reviews straight to your inbox.

×

Thank you for signing up.

×

Thanks!

Thank you for contacting us!

Our group will review and follow up within 72 hours.
Thanks for your interest!

Back Home ×