AudioFile - Find your next great audiobook
Get our Newsletter


by | Read by Karen Burlingame, Patrick Mason

Audio Theater • 1.5 hrs. • Audio Program • © 1998

Why is AUDIOFILE reviewing what is essentially a chamber opera? Because it's audio drama of sorts; because it's produced by L.A. Theatre Works, the works of whom frequently appear in these pages; because it's based on Joyce Carol Oates's novel of the same name; and because it's so damned good. Here, in the tradition of NIXON IN CHINA, Oates and composer John Duffy present a roman à clef about the scandal of Ted Kennedy at Chappaquiddick. For modern opera, the music is particularly accessible, if not exactly tuneful. The pristine recording preserves a live concert performance in Los Angeles, featuring a superb cast backed by a three-piece instrumental ensemble. Karen Burlingame as Kelly and Patrick Mason as the Senator stand out for their fine voices and passionate portrayals. Y.R. © AudioFile, Portland, Maine [Published: FEB/MAR 00]



Library Ed. • L.A. Theatre Works • 1999

CD ISBN $24.95 • One CDs

Get our Newsletter
Connect with AudioFile


Thank you for contacting us!

Our group will review and follow up within 72 hours.
Thanks for your interest!

Back Home ×