AudioFile - Find your next great audiobook
Get our Newsletter

Audiobooks for Kids & Teens

Whether you're listening as a family, "On-the-Go," or for quiet time, this terrific curated list for kids & teens gives you dozens of awesome choices. Explore other times & places, family & community themes, fantastic worlds, and familiar classics -- Audiobooks for Kids & Teens has something for everyone!

Home»Audiobooks for Kids and Teens

THE BOYS IN THE BOAT

THE BOYS IN THE BOAT Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics

Earphones Award Winner

by Daniel James Brown | Read by Edward Herrmann

Penguin Audio
History
Family Listening

When you have an author who writes with enthusiasm about a topic as arcane as competitive rowing and a narrator of the caliber of Edward Herrmann, the result is a fun and compelling work. There’s action and drama, particularly when the story moves to the 1936 Berlin Olympics and the American crew’s unexpected but well-earned gold medal. But it’s in the details of the sport... Read More

BOYS IN THE BOAT
CHARLIE AND THE CHOCOLATE FACTORY

CHARLIE AND THE CHOCOLATE FACTORY

Earphones Award Winner

by Roald Dahl | Read by Douglas Hodge

Penguin Audio
Children
Ages 8+

When you think of CHARLE AND THE CHOCOLATE FACTORY, it’s easy to think of the movies, with their over-the-top visual wackiness. But this audio production brings out the real magic of Roald Dahl’s writing. Narrator Douglas Hodge savors every scrumptious word as Charlie Bucket, destitute and starving, defies the odds by winning a golden ticket to tour Willy Wonka’s chocolate... Read More

CHARLIE AND THE CHOCOLATE FACTORY
JOSEPHINE

JOSEPHINE The Dazzling Life of Josephine Baker

by Patricia Hruby Powell | Read by Lizan Mitchell

Recorded Books
Children
Ages 6+

"She shimmied. She shook. Sparks flew.” Like Josephine Baker herself, Lizan Mitchell's narration dazzles with verve and vivacity. The story of Baker's uninhibited rags-to-riches life is told in poetic, often staccato, sentences that Mitchell delivers with gusto, punctuating the action in a volcanic life that "erupted into the Roaring Twenties." Though Baker’s life was often... Read More

JOSEPHINE
BLACK HELICOPTERS

BLACK HELICOPTERS

Earphones Award Winner

by Blythe Woolston | Read by Kate Rudd

Brilliance Audio
Young Adult
Ages 14+

With a stiff speech pattern and a flat affect to her voice, narrator Kate Rudd draws listeners into this chilling story of teens and terrorism. Valley and her older brother, Bo, have been taught to distrust conventional society, especially the government, which they believe is responsible for the death of their mother. When their father goes missing, Valley and Bo join others... Read More

BLACK HELICOPTERS
IF I STAY

IF I STAY

by Gayle Forman | Read by Kirsten Potter

Penguin Audio
Young Adult
Ages 12+

Fans of Alice Sebold's LOVELY BONES and Gabrielle Zevin's ELSEWHERE will be captivated by Gayle Forman's latest novel. Mia, a high school senior, is "gravely injured" in an automobile accident that took her parents and younger brother, Teddy. Kirsten Potter infuses Mia's voice with all the emotion, fear, and confusion of a soul hovering between "here" and "there," painfully... Read More

IF I STAY
THE NOTORIOUS BENEDICT ARNOLD

THE NOTORIOUS BENEDICT ARNOLD A True Story of Adventure, Heroism & Treachery

Earphones Award Winner

by Steve Sheinkin | Read by Mark Bramhall

Listening Library
Children
Ages 10+

THE NOTORIOUS BENEDICT ARNOLD follows Arnold from birth through his heroic military exploits to his eventual treason, the first in U.S. history. When voicing the story’s narrator, Mark Bramhall evokes a rugged American archetype. In dialogue he shifts subtly through an array of accents: British, German, French, high class and low. His portrayal of the revolutionaries is as... Read More

NOTORIOUS BENEDICT ARNOLD

Search by Title

Get our Newsletter
Connect with AudioFile
envelope

AudioFile Newsletter

Sign up to receive FREE email newsletters from AudioFile. Get audiobook recommendations and reviews straight to your inbox.

×

Thank you for signing up.

×

Thanks!

Thank you for contacting us!

Our group will review and follow up within 72 hours.
Thanks for your interest!

Back Home ×