by Lemony Snicket | Read by Lemony Snicket

Children Ages 8+ • 3.5 hrs. • Unabridged • © 2000

THE WIDE WINDOW is the fourth book in Snicket's popular series, A SERIES OF UNFORTUNATE EVENTS. The books are an interesting mix of Gothic suspense and desolation, didactic lessons, and the age-old conflict between good and evil. Following his formula, Snicket sends the three erudite children to their next guardian, an aunt who's afraid of everything. Enter Count Olaf in a new disguise, and once again we watch the children attempt to evade his clutches. Snicket's narration is surprisingly good; his narrator voice has just the right neutral tone, rising and falling in pitch with each plot twist. However, while he gives the characters recognizable voices, there are lapses, leaving the listener confused as to the speaker. The music, though appropriate, is more discordant than enhancing. Adults can usually handle only one of these titles, but students love them, and they engender lively classroom discussions. W.L.S. (c) AudioFile 2002, Portland, Maine [Published: FEB/ MAR 02]



Retail pak • Harper Audio • 2001

CS ISBN 0694525421 $20.00 • Three cassettes


Thank you for contacting us!

Our group will review and follow up within 72 hours.
Thanks for your interest!

Back Home ×

Get Access to All AudioFile Reviews 
and Features

View any review or feature FREE on the AudioFile Website.

Sign up now and get your Web Pass to...

  • Read online reviews hot off the digital press
  • Listen to sound clips
  • Find Earphone Award winners
  • Access and search thousands of audiobook reviews

It's simple and FREE. Takes only a few seconds and no credit card needed.

Already a subscriber?

We've updated our subscriber log-in system. Please give us your email, and you will continue to have full access to the digital editions and the AudioFile Web site.