Fall Preview — 5 Romances Not to Miss

Queue Up Your Player for Romance

I love getting romance previews, and it’s double the fun on audio. Great authors, great narrators, great storylines — it’s hard to wait until publication day! Here are some intriguing audiobooks coming soon to your fall playlist.

October 2 — CONSUMED (Firefighters series, book 1) by JR Ward, read by Jim Frangione, Hillary Huber, Jason Carpenter, Pete Simonelli
This is the first book in a new series by JR Ward, well known for her steamy urban paranormals with attitude. Her series opener features a stellar cast of narrators, making it one to watch.

October 2 — BECOMING MRS. LEWIS by Patti Callahan, read by Lauren Woodward
The subtitle of this book — The Improbable Love Story of Joy Davidman and C.S. Lewis — tells it all, and the print reviews have been glowing. Narrator Lauren Woodward should bring an understated eloquence to this thoughtful romance. 

October 2 — THE WITCH OF WILLOW HALL by Hester Fox, read by Lauren Ezzo
Three sisters join their family on a remote estate in Massachusetts where witchcraft and menace await them. Recommended for fans of A DISCOVERY OF WITCHES, Fox’s novel features the narration of Lauren Ezzo, whose versatility and simple grace will suit the creepy, gothic atmosphere.

October 16 — EVERY BREATH by Nicholas Sparks, read by Sean Cameron Michael, Vanessa Johansson
Two strangers looking for life’s answers meet on Sunset Beach, mixing possibility and regret. Sparks is perennially popular, in print, on audio, and on the big screen, so it’s a big fall reveal. I love the appeal of Vanessa Johansson’s voice — she’s great at dialogue and exposition — and pairing her with a South African-born actor should make for an interesting audio.

October 30 — THE PROPOSAL by Jasmine Guillory, read by Janina Edwards
It’s the second book from the author of the wildly popular THE WEDDING DATE, and I have heard rumors it’s better (gasp!) than her first. When a sporting event big-screen proposal goes awry, Nik and Carlos connect in the moment. Listeners looking for narrator continuity will be pleased to see Janina Edwards return to narrate Guillory’s second title. Good pacing, humor, and a lively tone are what listeners should expect.

These are just a few of the great romance titles due out this fall — which ones are YOU eagerly awaiting? As always, love your listening!

Caitlin is a librarian from Connecticut who enjoys great narrators and happy endings. She has been reviewing audiobooks for Audiofile Magazine since 2006, and she has had the privilege of judging numerous Audie Award categories since 2009. Her favorite authors are Jane Austen, Georgette Heyer, and whatever she's listening to right now!

Leave a Reply