Narrator Allyson Johnson on Mildred D. Taylor’s Unforgettable Series

In the video below, Allyson Johnson talks about the delights and challenges of narrating a long-running historical fiction series. With ALL THE DAYS PAST, ALL THE DAYS TO COME, the Logan family saga that began with ROLL OF THUNDER, HEAR MY CRY comes to an end, and Allyson puts the story into historical context for listeners. Author Mildred D. Taylor was honored with the Coretta Scott King–Virginia Hamilton Award for Lifetime Achievement this year, a well-deserved honor. Hear more about the audiobook from Allyson herself.

“It’s a beautifully evocative story.”—Narrator Allyson Johnson

All The Days Past, All The Days To ComeALL THE DAYS PAST, ALL THE DAYS TO COME
by Mildred D. Taylor, read by Allyson Johnson
Listening Library
AudioFile Earphones Award

Allyson welcomes listeners with her warm narration of a story centered around Cassie Logan, whom listeners first met as an 8-year-old in ROLL OF THUNDER, HEAR MY CRY. Now Cassie is 19, and she’s moving from Mississippi north, and then to California, discovering that prejudice and racism exist even all the way across the country. Johnson makes Cassie’s emotions clear as she grieves major losses, stands up to injustices, and balances maintaining her family’s love and respect with the possibility of an interracial marriage. The drama of the plot and the depth of the characterizations ensure that this audiobook is unforgettable.

Discover more of Allyson Johnson’s audiobooks on her audiography page.

We're the editorial team at AudioFile Magazine!

One Reply to “Narrator Allyson Johnson on Mildred D. Taylor’s Unforgettable Series”

  1. Re-reading Roll of Thunder right now because I loved it as a kid. I had no idea Taylor was still writing about the Logan family–so exciting! Thanks!

Leave a Reply