AudioFile - Find your next great audiobook
Get our Newsletter

GREAT CLASSICAL COMPOSERS Appreciating Their Lives and Music

by | Read by Richard Mayes, John Ringham, Michael Burrell, et al.

History • 12 hrs. • Unabridged • © 1976

Written by radio and television writers and musicians, this anthology is so much more than music to the ears. These eight tapes, each covering a different composer, provide the listener with the biography of the man's life and the social and historical context in which his works were written, all interspersed with beautiful music. Each snapshot is artfully narrated with actors playing the parts of the composers and their contemporaries. The production is so polished and exceptional that each composer--from Bach to Beethoven, Handel to Strauss--comes to life in full stereo. The only shortcoming to the package is that only eight composers are covered in too short a time! H.L.S. 2002 Audie Finalist (c) AudioFile 2002, Portland, Maine [Published: JUN/JUL 02]



Retail pak • Audio Partners • 2001

CS ISBN 1572702389 $34.95 • Eight cassettes

Get our Newsletter
Connect with AudioFile

AudioFile Newsletter

Let us recommend your next great audiobook!

No algorithms here!
We pick great audiobooks for you.
Sign up for our free newsletter with audiobook love from AudioFile editors.

If you are already with us, thank you! Just click X above.


Thank you for signing up.



Thank you for contacting us!

Our group will review and follow up within 72 hours.
Thanks for your interest!

Back Home ×