AudioFile - Find your next great audiobook
Get our Newsletter


by | Read by Martyn Read, Juliet Prague

Fiction • 17 hrs. • Unabridged • © 1961

These six intertwined tales, originally written 1961, are still fresh and delightful 50 years later. This six-generation saga traces the lives of Josiana Greenwood and her heirs, who inhabited the house at Old Vine in Suffolk, England, from the mid-1400s through the Restoration in the 1660s. Juliet Prague performs the first three and the fifth parts of this saga, using a variety of accents for the various male and female characters. Martyn Read performs the fourth and sixth parts in a deep voice and the distinctive accents of Suffolk and the northern regions of England. Both narrators act out conversations, changing tone to reflect the attitudes and ages of the various characters. Capable narrators, Read and Prague will sweep listeners into the lives and loves of those who lived in the house on Old Vine. M.B.K. © AudioFile 2015, Portland, Maine [Published: NOVEMBER 2015]

Trade Ed. • ISIS Audio Books/ Soundings • 2014

DD ISBN $32.68

Advertisement Advertisement


Trade Ed. • ISIS Audio Books/ Soundings • 2014

DD ISBN $32.68

The latest audiobook reviews, right in your inbox.

Get our FREE Newsletter and discover a world of audiobooks.


AudioFile Newsletter

Let us recommend your next great audiobook!

No algorithms here!
We pick great audiobooks for you.
Sign up for our free newsletter with audiobook love from AudioFile editors.

If you are already with us, thank you! Just click X above.


Thank you for signing up.



Thank you for contacting us!

Our group will review and follow up within 72 hours.
Thanks for your interest!

Back Home ×