AudioFile - Find your next great audiobook
Get our Newsletter

THE BOURNE IDENTITY

by | Read by Darren McGavin

Mystery & Suspense • 3 hrs. • Abridged • © 1987

This production epitomizes the best and worst of audiobooks. Take Robert Ludlum's bestselling spy novel, hire storyteller Darren McGavin to read it, delete mammoth chunks of the book to allow it to fit on two cassettes, and then add unnecessary music, and you have this production of THE BOURNE IDENTITY. Darren McGavin knows how to tell a story, and he does his best with what's left of the book, but the abridgment leaves so much out that it's difficult to understand the twists of the plot. For those who want a quick listen, this recording will do. For fans of Ludlum or McGavin, it's like ordering a sandwich and being served only the bread. D.J.S. (c) AudioFile 2002, Portland, Maine [Published: OCT/ NOV 02]

Advertisement

Formats

Retail pak • Random House Audio • 2002

CS ISBN 0553450530 $18.00 • Two cassettes

Get our Newsletter
Connect with AudioFile
envelope

AudioFile Newsletter

Let us recommend your next great audiobook!

No algorithms here!
We pick great audiobooks for you.
Sign up for our free newsletter with audiobook love from AudioFile editors.

If you are already with us, thank you! Just click X above.

×

Thank you for signing up.

×

Thanks!

Thank you for contacting us!

Our group will review and follow up within 72 hours.
Thanks for your interest!

Back Home ×