AudioFile - Find your next great audiobook
Get our Newsletter


by | Read by Fiona Hardingham, Steve West

Fiction • 9 hrs. • Unabridged • © 2013

Set in 1948, in Australia, this story weaves the lives of Annika, Mac, Iris, Roy, and Frank into a tale of love, loss, and grief. Narrator Fiona Hardingham tells Annika's story as she navigates postwar widowhood, which plunges her into life as a single parent and newly hired librarian. Hardingham is superb at bringing the characters in Annika's story to life with unique voices, allowing the listener to know and care about the grief and wounds that Iris, Roy, and Frank carry in the aftermath of war. In alternating chapters, narrator Steve West portrays the Scottish Mac, who is full of life, humor, and love for Annika, his wife, and Isabel, his daughter. The language is beautifully poetic and descriptive, and the narrators' deliveries complement the author's strengths. N.E.M. © AudioFile 2016, Portland, Maine [Published: JUNE 2016]

Trade Ed. • Simon & Schuster Audio • 2016

DD ISBN 9781508211860 $17.99

Advertisement Advertisement
The latest audiobook reviews, right in your inbox.

Get our FREE Newsletter and discover a world of audiobooks.


AudioFile Newsletter

Let us recommend your next great audiobook!

No algorithms here!
We pick great audiobooks for you.
Sign up for our free newsletter with audiobook love from AudioFile editors.

If you are already with us, thank you! Just click X above.


Thank you for signing up.



Thank you for contacting us!

Our group will review and follow up within 72 hours.
Thanks for your interest!

Back Home ×


Thank you for signing up!

Our group will review and follow up soon.

Back Home ×