AudioFile - Find your next great audiobook
Get our Newsletter


by | Read by Simon Vance

Children Ages 8+ • 4.5 hrs. • Unabridged • © 1953

In this installment of the 25-book Jennings series, listeners join Simon Vance and young Jennings for a spirited romp through a term at a 1950s boarding school. In episodic chapters, Jennings invents a secret code, goes on an out-of-town excursion, starts a museum, and has several comedy-of-errors style misunderstandings, all of which Vance delivers with wry humor and warm familiarity. Buckeridge's characters are well meaning but good at getting in their own way, and Vance's characterizations are both endearing and funny. His pacing prevents this relatively short listen from feeling too abrupt, while keeping the day-to-day events from dragging. A good match for families, road trips, or those who are looking to jump into a series without having to start at the beginning. K.S.B. © AudioFile 2016, Portland, Maine [Published: NOVEMBER 2016]

Digital Download • Post Hypnotic Press • 2011

DD ISBN $16.99

Advertisement Advertisement


Digital Download • Post Hypnotic Press • 2011

DD ISBN $16.99

The latest audiobook reviews, right in your inbox.

Get our FREE Newsletter and discover a world of audiobooks.


AudioFile Newsletter

Let us recommend your next great audiobook!

No algorithms here!
We pick great audiobooks for you.
Sign up for our free newsletter with audiobook love from AudioFile editors.

If you are already with us, thank you! Just click X above.


Thank you for signing up.



Thank you for contacting us!

Our group will review and follow up within 72 hours.
Thanks for your interest!

Back Home ×