AudioFile - Find your next great audiobook
Get our Newsletter

FOR WHITE FOLKS WHO TEACH IN THE HOOD ...and the Rest of Y'all Too: Reality Pedagogy and Urban Education

by | Read by JD Jackson

Contemporary Culture • 8.5 hrs. • Unabridged • © 2016

In the tradition of Lisa Delpit, Jonathan Kozol, and bell hooks, author Christopher Emdin offers a powerful treatise on creating a respectful and powerful learning environment for marginalized populations. Society, he says, has repeatedly failed to embrace these young people. JD Jackson narrates Emdin's words with such focus that listeners will be all the more keenly drawn to the discussion. Jackson's deep and raspy voice has a gentle tone that makes it sound like the quintessential teacher voice--one that draws attention with kindness and hope and speaks with students, not at them. Author and narrator will strongly connect with educators, who need to think deeply about how to authentically meet the needs of all students. L.E. © AudioFile 2017, Portland, Maine [Published: APRIL 2017]

Advertisement

Formats

Digital Download • Audible, Inc. • 2016

DD ISBN $19.95

Get our Newsletter
Connect with AudioFile
envelope

AudioFile Newsletter

Let us recommend your next great audiobook!

No algorithms here!
We pick great audiobooks for you.
Sign up for our free newsletter with audiobook love from AudioFile editors.

If you are already with us, thank you! Just click X above.

×

Thank you for signing up.

×

Thanks!

Thank you for contacting us!

Our group will review and follow up within 72 hours.
Thanks for your interest!

Back Home ×