AudioFile - Find your next great audiobook
Get our Newsletter


by | Read by David Case

Fiction • 12 hrs. • Anthology • © 1924-1962

Robert Graves, one of the foremost poets of the century, was the author of 90 books of poetry, scholarly work and prose (including I, Claudius). According to the author's introduction, these stories are mostly autobiographical; settings include WW1, Majorca, the author's home for many years, and ancient Rome. The collection is well-read by David Case, an Englishman who capably handles a wide range of accents, including Spanish and American. He paces himself well and is consistent throughout. The problem with the production is that it includes all the stories. While many are enjoyable, some are not successful and cannot be easily avoided on audio, nor do Case's efforts save them from being tiresome. Choosing the best of the stories would have resulted in a far superior production. M.A.M. ©AudioFile, Portland, Maine [Published: DEC 93]

Book pak • Books on Tape • 1993

CS ISBN 0736623760 $64.00 • Eight cassettes

Advertisement Advertisement


Book pak • Books on Tape • 1993

CS ISBN 0736623760 $64.00 • Eight cassettes

The latest audiobook reviews, right in your inbox.

Get our FREE Newsletter and discover a world of audiobooks.


AudioFile Newsletter

Let us recommend your next great audiobook!

No algorithms here!
We pick great audiobooks for you.
Sign up for our free newsletter with audiobook love from AudioFile editors.

If you are already with us, thank you! Just click X above.


Thank you for signing up.



Thank you for contacting us!

Our group will review and follow up within 72 hours.
Thanks for your interest!

Back Home ×