AudioFile - Find your next great audiobook
Get our Newsletter


by | Read by Samuel West

Fiction • 9.3 hrs. • Unabridged • © 1954

In Iris Murdoch's 1954 debut novel, Jake Donaghue is an engaging young writer. In his overintellectualized angst, Jake details a convoluted romantic impossibility--he loves Anna, who loves Hugo, who loves Sadie, who loves Jake. His betrayal of his best friend's trust, his emotional indifference in most of his relationships, and his failed first book eventually leave Jake in existential hell. Samuel West's performance is nicely understated. His intelligent reading turns Jake and Hugo's somber discussions of philosophy and metaphysics into exercises in wit. Jake offers that everything "is made up of moments, which pass and become nothing." West delivers Jake's discoveries, not as grim, but as the ramblings of a young artist in search of himself. Murdoch fans will be pleased. S.J.H. (c) AudioFile 2003, Portland, Maine [Published: APR/MAY 03]



Book pak • BBC Audiobooks America/ Chivers • 2002

CS ISBN 0754009297 $69.95 • Eight cassettes

Get our Newsletter
Connect with AudioFile

AudioFile Newsletter

Sign up to receive FREE email newsletters from AudioFile. Get audiobook recommendations and reviews straight to your inbox.


Thank you for signing up.



Thank you for contacting us!

Our group will review and follow up within 72 hours.
Thanks for your interest!

Back Home ×