AudioFile - Find your next great audiobook
Get our Newsletter


by | Read by Rebecca Lowman

Fiction • 11.5 hrs. • Unabridged • © 2018

When four musicians enter an international string quartet competition at the conclusion of their training at a San Francisco conservatory, they have no inkling that their partnership will span decades. Narrator Rebecca Lowman lends a quiet passion to this rich novel based in the ruthless world of professional musicianship. She portrays the intensely ambitious Jana, first violin, with increasing sensitivity as the story unfolds. Henry, the viola prodigy, transitions from smug poise to vulnerability over time, and Lowman sympathetically depicts the simmering anger of the cellist, Daniel. The second violinist, Brit, lacks confidence despite her beauty and skill. The four are an ensemble not only of strings but also of sustained friendship as they navigate triumphs and heartbreak. N.M.C. © AudioFile 2018, Portland, Maine [Published: JUNE 2018]

Trade Ed. • Penguin Audio • 2018

DD ISBN 9780525528364 $20.00


Library Ed. • Books on Tape • 2018

DD ISBN 9780525528371 $76.00

Advertisement Advertisement
The latest audiobook reviews, right in your inbox.

Get our FREE Newsletter and discover a world of audiobooks.


AudioFile Newsletter

Let us recommend your next great audiobook!

No algorithms here!
We pick great audiobooks for you.
Sign up for our free newsletter with audiobook love from AudioFile editors.

If you are already with us, thank you! Just click X above.


Thank you for signing up.



Thank you for contacting us!

Our group will review and follow up within 72 hours.
Thanks for your interest!

Back Home ×


Thank you for signing up!

Our group will review and follow up soon.

Back Home ×