AudioFile - Find your next great audiobook
Get our Newsletter

SAM & ILSA'S LAST HURRAH

by | Read by Michael Crouch, Sophie Amoss

Young Adult Ages 12+ • 5.5 hrs. • Unabridged • © 2018

Michael Crouch and Sophie Amoss narrate Sam and Ilsa's viewpoints in alternating chapters. The 18-year-old twins are hosting an extravagant dinner party to honor their grandmother--whom they lovingly refer as "Czarina"--who is giving up her rent-controlled apartment in Manhattan. The six eccentric guests bring big personalities, Dolly Parton action figures, and a sock puppet that is treated like a story character. Fans of Cohn and Levithan's other books will likely enjoy this story, but they may find the audiobook confusing. There are lengthy sections of dialogue where the narrators don't differentiate the characters' voices effectively enough for listeners to tell who is speaking. Additionally, the same characters are voiced by two different narrators, which makes the characterizations seem inconsistent. S.P. © AudioFile 2018, Portland, Maine [Published: MAY 2018]

Advertisement

Formats

Trade Ed. • Listening Library • 2018

DD ISBN 9780525593768 $18.00

 

Library Ed. • Listening Library • 2018

DD ISBN 9780525593775 $45.00

Get our Newsletter
Connect with AudioFile
envelope

AudioFile Newsletter

Let us recommend your next great audiobook!

No algorithms here!
We pick great audiobooks for you.
Sign up for our free newsletter with audiobook love from AudioFile editors.

If you are already with us, thank you! Just click X above.

×

Thank you for signing up.

×

Thanks!

Thank you for contacting us!

Our group will review and follow up within 72 hours.
Thanks for your interest!

Back Home ×