AudioFile - Find your next great audiobook
Get our Newsletter

DESK 88 Eight Progressive Senators Who Changed America

by | Read by Leon Nixon, Sherrod Brown

History • 12.75 hrs. • Unabridged • © 2019

Ohio Senator Sherrod Brown offers listeners both an insider's and a historical view of the workings of the U.S. Senate in this intriguing audiobook. His focus is on eight progressive senators, including Robert F. Kennedy, Hugo Black, and George McGovern, who sat at the same desk he currently uses. With a measured pace and a thoughtful tone, narrator Leon Nixon conveys each senator's background and legislative accomplishments. After each chapter, the gravelly voiced Brown narrates his "thoughts from Desk 88," which reveal his indignation at the obstacles many Americans face in combating hunger and securing affordable health care and a living wage. These two narrative styles blend well, focusing listeners' attention on the abundant research and these senator's passionate commitment to progressive ideals. M.J. © AudioFile 2019, Portland, Maine [Published: DECEMBER 2019]

Trade Ed. • Macmillan Audio • 2019

DD ISBN 9781250261601 $26.99

The latest audiobook reviews, right in your inbox.

Get our FREE Newsletter and discover a world of audiobooks.


AudioFile Newsletter

Let us recommend your next great audiobook!

No algorithms here!
We pick great audiobooks for you.
Sign up for our free newsletter with audiobook love from AudioFile editors.

If you are already with us, thank you! Just click X above.


Thank you for signing up.



Thank you for contacting us!

Our group will review and follow up within 72 hours.
Thanks for your interest!

Back Home ×


Thank you for signing up!

Our group will review and follow up soon.

Back Home ×