AudioFile - Find your next great audiobook
Get our Newsletter


by | Read by Samuel West

Children Ages 10+ • 9.5 hrs. • Unabridged • © 2002

Begun with THE WIND SINGER and followed by SLAVES OF THE MASTERY, The Wind on Fire trilogy now follows the twins, Bowman and Kestrel, the Hath family, and the ragtag remnants of the people of Manth as they make their long journey in search of home and safety. As they march, Bowman prepares to sacrifice himself for his people, something he believes is his destiny. Narrator Samuel West's quiet authority gives depth to the twins' deep empathic connection and invests even minor characters with emotional lives. West handles frequent shifts in points of view, moments of magic, and political intrigues in a performance filled with nuance and subtlety. For maximum enjoyment in the fantasy world of Amaranth, listen to the first two installments before FIRESONG. S.J.H. (c) AudioFile 2004, Portland, Maine [Published: OCT/ NOV 04]



Library Ed. • BBC Audiobooks America/ Chivers • 2003

CS ISBN 0754064409 $59.95 • Eight cassettes

Get our Newsletter
Connect with AudioFile

AudioFile Newsletter

Let us recommend your next great audiobook!

No algorithms here!
We pick great audiobooks for you.
Sign up for our free newsletter with audiobook love from AudioFile editors.

If you are already with us, thank you! Just click X above.


Thank you for signing up.



Thank you for contacting us!

Our group will review and follow up within 72 hours.
Thanks for your interest!

Back Home ×