AudioFile - Find your next great audiobook
Get our Newsletter


by | Read by Allen Lewis Rickman, Kathleen Gati, David Pittu, Yelena Shmulenson, Ilyana Kadushin

Fiction • 6.5 hrs. • Unabridged • © 2020

This collection of stories centers on a cast of characters living in an apartment complex in Ukraine. Five talented narrators share the task of conveying the dry humor and surreal satirical atmosphere of author Maria Reva's five stories set before the fall of the USSR, and four that take place after. While the narrators alternate in performing the stories, they are all consistently well paced and occasionally sardonic in their delivery, some with a light accent. The stories range from "Novoströika" to "Homecoming," and include intermittent appearances by the enigmatic Zaya, who progresses from an orphan and beauty pageant crasher to a sadist for hire. This collection is an intriguing look at the USSR's sweeping impact on the lives of individuals. S.E.G. © AudioFile 2021, Portland, Maine [Published: DECEMBER 2021]

Trade Ed. • Random House Audio • 2020

DD ISBN 9780593169490 $17.50


Library Ed. • Books on Tape • 2020

DD ISBN 9780593169506 $57.00

Advertisement Advertisement
The latest audiobook reviews, right in your inbox.

Get our FREE Newsletter and discover a world of audiobooks.


AudioFile Newsletter

Let us recommend your next great audiobook!

No algorithms here!
We pick great audiobooks for you.
Sign up for our free newsletter with audiobook love from AudioFile editors.

If you are already with us, thank you! Just click X above.


Thank you for signing up.



Thank you for contacting us!

Our group will review and follow up within 72 hours.
Thanks for your interest!

Back Home ×


Thank you for signing up!

Our group will review and follow up soon.

Back Home ×