AudioFile - Find your next great audiobook
Get our Newsletter

THE FORSYTE SAGA Forsyte Chronicles, Vol. 1

by | Read by David Timson

Classics • 38 hrs. • Unabridged • © 1922

Classically trained British narrator David Timson has just the right comfortable yet aristocratic delivery to highlight the detailed character sketches, easy satire, and languid atmosphere of John Galsworthy's towering examination of a highborn family of wealth and property. The work spans the late Victorian era and the Roaring Twenties. Composed of the three novels and two spritely paced interludes, THE FORSYTE SAGA was written between 1906 and 1921. (Two sequels followed.) Listeners will meet three generations of Forsytes, including the addled Old Jolyon, the plotting Soames, and the star-crossed cousins, Jon and Fleur. A Nobel Prize winner in 1932, Galsworthy has since fallen out of literary favor. However, with Timson's realistic, vibrant narration, it may be time to rediscover this entertaining masterwork. B.P. © AudioFile 2023, Portland, Maine [Published: JANUARY 2023]

Digital Download • Naxos AudioBooks • 2021

DD ISBN 9781781983447 $75.00

Advertisement Advertisement
The latest audiobook reviews, right in your inbox.

Get our FREE Newsletter and discover a world of audiobooks.


AudioFile Newsletter

Let us recommend your next great audiobook!

No algorithms here!
We pick great audiobooks for you.
Sign up for our free newsletter with audiobook love from AudioFile editors.

If you are already with us, thank you! Just click X above.


Thank you for signing up.



Thank you for contacting us!

Our group will review and follow up within 72 hours.
Thanks for your interest!

Back Home ×


Thank you for signing up!

Our group will review and follow up soon.

Back Home ×