AudioFile - Find your next great audiobook
Get our Newsletter


Earphones Award Winner

by | Read by Mark Deakins, Mark Bramhall, Ari Fliakos, George Newbern, Kyla Garcia, Alex McKenna, Xe Sands, Rebecca Lowman

Fiction • 8.75 hrs. • Unabridged • © 2022

Excellent narration from a bevy of capable narrators enhances Maggie Shipstead's incisive collection of 10 short stories. Plots are varied: An actress emerges from a Scientology-type religious movement in the titular story, narrated by Alex McKenna; a Hollywood father and his two daughters clean out his late father's home in "Angel Lust," narrated by George Newbern; and a love triangle unfolds at a ranch in "The Cowboy Tango," narrated by Mark Deakins. The stories feel fresh and are illuminated by the deliveries of the eight seasoned voice actors. A particular standout is a story titled "Acknowledgements," in which Ari Fliakos captures the protagonist's sneering self-importance. Shipstead's complex, flawed characters may not be altogether likable, but the author has pulled together a collection that is sharp and likable indeed. S.E.G. Winner of AudioFile Earphones Award © AudioFile 2022, Portland, Maine [Published: JUNE 2022]

Trade Ed. • Random House Audio • 2022

DD ISBN 9780593155073 $20.00


Library Ed. • Books on Tape • 2022

DD ISBN 9780593155080 $76.00

Advertisement Advertisement
The latest audiobook reviews, right in your inbox.

Get our FREE Newsletter and discover a world of audiobooks.


AudioFile Newsletter

Let us recommend your next great audiobook!

No algorithms here!
We pick great audiobooks for you.
Sign up for our free newsletter with audiobook love from AudioFile editors.

If you are already with us, thank you! Just click X above.


Thank you for signing up.



Thank you for contacting us!

Our group will review and follow up within 72 hours.
Thanks for your interest!

Back Home ×


Thank you for signing up!

Our group will review and follow up soon.

Back Home ×