AudioFile - Find your next great audiobook
Get our Newsletter


by | Read by Venice Van Someren

Children Ages 10+ • 5.25 hrs. • Unabridged • © 2021

Venice Van Someren narrates this children's thriller set in England during the 1962 Cuban missile crisis. The story unfolds in six parts that coincide with the six days of nuclear standoff between the U.S. and the USSR. As the world holds its collective breath, two English kids face heightened drama when they find a mysterious girl on the run hiding in Stevie's coal shed. Van Someren moves easily between the accents and attitudes of the three conspirators--Stevie, an introverted yet quietly bold daughter of a working-class family; her best friend, Ray, a biracial boy whose dad hails from the American South; and Anna, an upper-class English girl with a desperate and secret plan. Van Someren deftly conveys their shared fears, joys, and determination against all odds. L.T. © AudioFile 2022, Portland, Maine [Published: AUGUST 2022]

Trade Ed. • Bolinda Audio • 2022

DD ISBN multiple sources

Advertisement Advertisement
The latest audiobook reviews, right in your inbox.

Get our FREE Newsletter and discover a world of audiobooks.


AudioFile Newsletter

Let us recommend your next great audiobook!

No algorithms here!
We pick great audiobooks for you.
Sign up for our free newsletter with audiobook love from AudioFile editors.

If you are already with us, thank you! Just click X above.


Thank you for signing up.



Thank you for contacting us!

Our group will review and follow up within 72 hours.
Thanks for your interest!

Back Home ×


Thank you for signing up!

Our group will review and follow up soon.

Back Home ×