AudioFile - Find your next great audiobook
Get our Newsletter


by | Read by Nicole Lewis

Fiction • 13 hrs. • Unabridged • © 2022

Nicole Lewis performs a chorus of voices in this multi-perspective story, which centers on Circus, a middle-aged jazz musician who has just left his pregnant girlfriend. From there, we jump between the perspectives of the other women in Circus's life, including his ex-wife, his daughter, and a seemingly endless string of hookups. With so many points of view, this audiobook might have benefited from multiple narrators. But Lewis's performance proves up to the challenge, capturing each woman's unique narrative voice and creating an emotional intimacy that makes each woman's crisis as believable as the last. With her heartfelt narration, Lewis ensures that listeners will remember these characters long after their story ends. K.D.W. © AudioFile 2022, Portland, Maine [Published: OCTOBER 2022]

Trade Ed. • Random House Audio • 2022

DD ISBN 9780593628621 $22.50


Library Ed. • Books on Tape • 2022

DD ISBN 9780593628638 $95.00

Advertisement Advertisement
The latest audiobook reviews, right in your inbox.

Get our FREE Newsletter and discover a world of audiobooks.


AudioFile Newsletter

Let us recommend your next great audiobook!

No algorithms here!
We pick great audiobooks for you.
Sign up for our free newsletter with audiobook love from AudioFile editors.

If you are already with us, thank you! Just click X above.


Thank you for signing up.



Thank you for contacting us!

Our group will review and follow up within 72 hours.
Thanks for your interest!

Back Home ×


Thank you for signing up!

Our group will review and follow up soon.

Back Home ×