AudioFile - Find your next great audiobook
Get our Newsletter


by | Read by Grace Conlin

Children • 8 hrs • Unabridged • © 1881

This is one of the seminal books of American children’s fiction. First published in 1881, eleven more volumes followed in the Pepper series, making Harriet Mulford Stone Lathrop internationally famous (as Margaret Sidney.) The series still enjoys wide readership today. It’s the story of how the Peppers cope with poverty and difficulty, always with courage and cheer, after the death of Mr. Pepper. A poor narrator could have made it sickly sentimental, but Grace Conlin brings flair and passion to the task and does a superb job. Her cadence is rapid, and her characterizations are distinctive and strong. D.W. ©AudioFile, Portland, Maine [Published: SEPT 95]

Library Ed. • Blackstone Audio • 1994

CS ISBN $35.95 • Five cassettes

Advertisement Advertisement


Library Ed. • Blackstone Audio • 1994

CS ISBN $35.95 • Five cassettes

The latest audiobook reviews, right in your inbox.

Get our FREE Newsletter and discover a world of audiobooks.


AudioFile Newsletter

Let us recommend your next great audiobook!

No algorithms here!
We pick great audiobooks for you.
Sign up for our free newsletter with audiobook love from AudioFile editors.

If you are already with us, thank you! Just click X above.


Thank you for signing up.



Thank you for contacting us!

Our group will review and follow up within 72 hours.
Thanks for your interest!

Back Home ×