AudioFile - Find your next great audiobook
Get our Newsletter


by | Read by Sophie Roberts

Historical Fiction • 11 hrs. • Unabridged • © 2023

Sophie Roberts is outstanding as she performs this richly detailed novel of two girls in decadent eighteenth-century Venice. Luisa, a resident at a girls' conservatory, hopes to become a concert violinist under the tutelage of Antonio Vivaldi. When Maddalena, a beautiful young noblewoman is sent to the conservatory, Luisa's life takes a devastating turn. Maddalena has discovered that the sea grants wishes in exchange for an offering. She urges Luisa to wish for her heart's desire. In alternating chapters, Roberts sounds slightly breathless as the girls discover their mutual attraction and convincingly vindictive when things go wrong. Julia Fine's lyrical prose borders on the poetic, while Roberts invests each girl with complicated emotions, allowing their confused feelings to permeate this sinister tale of love and magic. S.J.H. © AudioFile 2023, Portland, Maine [Published: JUNE 2023]

Trade Ed. • Macmillan Audio • 2023

DD ISBN 9781250902764 $26.99


Library Ed. • Macmillan Audio • 2023

DD ISBN 9781250330154 $74.99

Advertisement Advertisement
The latest audiobook reviews, right in your inbox.

Get our FREE Newsletter and discover a world of audiobooks.


AudioFile Newsletter

Let us recommend your next great audiobook!

No algorithms here!
We pick great audiobooks for you.
Sign up for our free newsletter with audiobook love from AudioFile editors.

If you are already with us, thank you! Just click X above.


Thank you for signing up.



Thank you for contacting us!

Our group will review and follow up within 72 hours.
Thanks for your interest!

Back Home ×


Thank you for signing up!

Our group will review and follow up soon.

Back Home ×