AudioFile - Find your next great audiobook
Get our Newsletter


by | Read by Deepti Gupta, Carlotta Brentan, Cassandra Campbell, Ari Fliakos, Michael Obiora

Fiction • 6 hrs. • Unabridged • © 2023

Five talented narrators join forces to deliver nuanced performances of Jhumpa Lahiri's new collection of short stories. Written in Italian, the author's third language, and translated by her into English, the contemplative and elegant stories revolve around outsiders who are drawn to the City of Light. The mix of voices--Indian subcontinent, mid-American, British-African, Italian-American--highlights the theme of displacement. While individually different, each narrator celebrates Lahiri's precise prose while exploring her characters' otherness and their longing for a possibly imaginary Rome. Michael Obiora voices "Well-Lit House" and "The Procession"; Deepti Gupta voices "The Reentry" and "Notes"; Cassandra Campbell voices "Dante Alighieri"; Carlotta Brentan voices "The Boundary"; and Ari Fliakos voices "P's Parties." Gupta and Fliakos narrate "The Delivery." All five narrators perform "The Steps." A.C.S. © AudioFile 2023, Portland, Maine [Published: OCTOBER 2023]

Trade Ed. • Random House Audio • 2023

DD ISBN 9780593788349 $20.00


Library Ed. • Books on Tape • 2023

DD ISBN 9780593788356 $66.50

Advertisement Advertisement
The latest audiobook reviews, right in your inbox.

Get our FREE Newsletter and discover a world of audiobooks.


AudioFile Newsletter

Let us recommend your next great audiobook!

No algorithms here!
We pick great audiobooks for you.
Sign up for our free newsletter with audiobook love from AudioFile editors.

If you are already with us, thank you! Just click X above.


Thank you for signing up.



Thank you for contacting us!

Our group will review and follow up within 72 hours.
Thanks for your interest!

Back Home ×


Thank you for signing up!

Our group will review and follow up soon.

Back Home ×