AudioFile - Find your next great audiobook
Get our Newsletter


by | Read by Alison Larkin

Mystery & Suspense • 9.25 hrs. • Unabridged • © 2023

Alison Larkin's crystalline voice adds verve to Gerald Elias's eighth mystery featuring Daniel Jacobus, who is blind. Elias, who is a violinist and composer, as well as a writer, clearly adores classical music and finds its adherents wonderful and quirky. Larkin's expressive narration lets the eccentricity shine in this tale about a musician's death in the midst of Mahler's 6th Symphony. Jacobus and his musical companions, Yumi Shinagawa and Nathaniel Williams, partner and spar with an overbearing Scotland Yard detective as they try to discover why anyone would kill a sweet-tempered young violinist. Larkin's attentive pacing highlights the book's wit, and her characterizations leave one grinning. Occasional musical interludes round out the atmosphere, making for an altogether delightful listen. A.C.S. © AudioFile 2023, Portland, Maine [Published: NOVEMBER 2023]

Digital Download • Alison Larkin Presents • 2023

DD ISBN $19.95

Advertisement Advertisement
The latest audiobook reviews, right in your inbox.

Get our FREE Newsletter and discover a world of audiobooks.


AudioFile Newsletter

Let us recommend your next great audiobook!

No algorithms here!
We pick great audiobooks for you.
Sign up for our free newsletter with audiobook love from AudioFile editors.

If you are already with us, thank you! Just click X above.


Thank you for signing up.



Thank you for contacting us!

Our group will review and follow up within 72 hours.
Thanks for your interest!

Back Home ×


Thank you for signing up!

Our group will review and follow up soon.

Back Home ×