AudioFile - Find your next great audiobook
Get our Newsletter


by | Read by Rupert Degas

Classics • 5.75 hrs. • Unabridged • © 1966

The January of this audiobook's title is no ordinary month. In this wintry time, we meet six courageous escapees from Nazi death marches who are thrust together in a battle for survival. Rupert Degas is a master of accents and emotions as he delivers conversations featuring Russian, French, German, and Polish characters whose mindsets swing between relieved exultation and exhausted devastation. The extended conversations are easy to appreciate because of Degas's subtle vocal adjustments. There are few missteps with character development and dialogue. Delivering the exposition, Degas's voice is compassionate and gentle. Snippets of music punctuate the chapters, but these interludes seem incongruous and abrupt, rather than adding dimension to the performance. Degas is all the music this audiobook needs. L.B.F. © AudioFile 2024, Portland, Maine [Published: APRIL 2024]

Trade Ed. • Naxos AudioBooks • 2024

DD ISBN 978-1-78198-505-2 $17.50

Advertisement Advertisement
The latest audiobook reviews, right in your inbox.

Get our FREE Newsletter and discover a world of audiobooks.


AudioFile Newsletter

Let us recommend your next great audiobook!

No algorithms here!
We pick great audiobooks for you.
Sign up for our free newsletter with audiobook love from AudioFile editors.

If you are already with us, thank you! Just click X above.


Thank you for signing up.



Thank you for contacting us!

Our group will review and follow up within 72 hours.
Thanks for your interest!

Back Home ×


Thank you for signing up!

Our group will review and follow up soon.

Back Home ×