AudioFile - Find your next great audiobook
Get our Newsletter


by | Read by Jonathan Kent

Classics • 7 hrs. • Unabridged • ©

This collection covers the author's best-known short stories, from the title piece to "The Notorious Jumping Frog of Calaveras County" and "The Man That Corrupted Hadleyburg." They are, unfortunately, read rather boringly by Jonathan Kent. Kent tries to create a homey, folksy atmosphere with his understated, deep voice, but he doesn't capture the inherent wit or character of Twain's writing. Sentences, long in the first place, tend to go on too long, and many key words are underemphasized or swallowed. In addition, Kent doesn't give his character voices enough power, so they merely become louder, somewhat stranger versions of his narrator's tone. R.I.G. ©AudioFile, Portland, Maine [Published: MAY 98]

Book pak • Books on Tape • 1997

CS ISBN 0736636498 $42.00 • Seven cassettes

Advertisement Advertisement


Book pak • Books on Tape • 1997

CS ISBN 0736636498 $42.00 • Seven cassettes

The latest audiobook reviews, right in your inbox.

Get our FREE Newsletter and discover a world of audiobooks.


AudioFile Newsletter

Let us recommend your next great audiobook!

No algorithms here!
We pick great audiobooks for you.
Sign up for our free newsletter with audiobook love from AudioFile editors.

If you are already with us, thank you! Just click X above.


Thank you for signing up.



Thank you for contacting us!

Our group will review and follow up within 72 hours.
Thanks for your interest!

Back Home ×