AudioFile - Find your next great audiobook
Get our Newsletter

THEN EVERYTHING CHANGED Stunning Alternate Histories of American Politics: JFK, RFK, Carter, Ford, Reagan

by | Read by Jeff Greenfield, Michael Kramer

Contemporary Culture • 14 hrs. • Unabridged • © 2011

Greenfield presents three alternate history scenarios spanning two decades, beginning in 1960 when Lyndon Johnson becomes president after the assassination of John F. Kennedy before his inauguration, followed by Robert Kennedy's narrow escape from an attempt on his own life in 1968. Michael Kramer comfortably handles the diverse accents and speech rhythms, but his pacing is too slow and detracts from the audio experience. The majority of the story follows RFK's election campaign, and the last part begins when Gerald Ford barely wins the 1976 election over Jimmy Carter and ends with Gary Hart's win over Reagan in 1980. Greenfield bases this account on memoirs, histories, fresh reporting with journalists and key participants, and his own knowledge of the principal players. Political gurus will love this listen. B.C.E. © AudioFile 2011, Portland, Maine [Published: NOVEMBER 2011]

Digital Download • Penguin Audio • 2011

DD ISBN 9781101432389 $39.95

Advertisement Advertisement


Digital Download • Penguin Audio • 2011

DD ISBN 9781101432389 $39.95

The latest audiobook reviews, right in your inbox.

Get our FREE Newsletter and discover a world of audiobooks.


AudioFile Newsletter

Let us recommend your next great audiobook!

No algorithms here!
We pick great audiobooks for you.
Sign up for our free newsletter with audiobook love from AudioFile editors.

If you are already with us, thank you! Just click X above.


Thank you for signing up.



Thank you for contacting us!

Our group will review and follow up within 72 hours.
Thanks for your interest!

Back Home ×