AudioFile - Find your next great audiobook
Get our Newsletter

BLACK WATER

by | Read by Karen Burlingame, Patrick Mason

Audio Theater • 1.5 hrs. • Audio Program • © 1998

Why is AUDIOFILE reviewing what is essentially a chamber opera? Because it's audio drama of sorts; because it's produced by L.A. Theatre Works, the works of whom frequently appear in these pages; because it's based on Joyce Carol Oates's novel of the same name; and because it's so damned good. Here, in the tradition of NIXON IN CHINA, Oates and composer John Duffy present a roman à clef about the scandal of Ted Kennedy at Chappaquiddick. For modern opera, the music is particularly accessible, if not exactly tuneful. The pristine recording preserves a live concert performance in Los Angeles, featuring a superb cast backed by a three-piece instrumental ensemble. Karen Burlingame as Kelly and Patrick Mason as the Senator stand out for their fine voices and passionate portrayals. Y.R. © AudioFile, Portland, Maine [Published: FEB/MAR 00]

Advertisement

Formats

Library Ed. • L.A. Theatre Works • 1999

CD ISBN $24.95 • One CDs

Get our Newsletter
Connect with AudioFile
envelope

AudioFile Newsletter

Let us recommend your next great audiobook!

No algorithms here!
We pick great audiobooks for you.
Sign up for our free newsletter with audiobook love from AudioFile editors.

If you are already with us, thank you! Just click X above.

×

Thank you for signing up.

×

Thanks!

Thank you for contacting us!

Our group will review and follow up within 72 hours.
Thanks for your interest!

Back Home ×