AudioFile - Find your next great audiobook
Get our Newsletter

SPADEWORK A Collection of 'Nameless Detective' Stories

by | Read by Nick Sullivan

Mystery & Suspense • 7.25 hrs. • Unabridged • © 1996

Pronzini's collection of 15 short stories celebrates the 25th anniversary of the popular Nameless Detective's first story, "The Snatch." Stories include the Shamus Award-winning "Cat's Paw," voted best detective short story of 1983, and other equally captivating and sophisticated tales, puzzles, and locked-room mysteries. Narrator Nick Sullivan captures the detective's hard-boiled investigative style with careful pacing. His gritty, understated reading and subtle misdirection lead inattentive listeners to miss important clues, especially with "Cat's Paw." Further, his delivery of "Worried Mother Job"--which amplifies its chilling psychological intensity--will be remembered long after the story ends. Don't miss Marcia Muller's captivating foreword about Pronzini's work or the author's fascinating afterword. G.D.W. © AudioFile 2013, Portland, Maine [Published: MARCH 2013]

Digital Download • Crossroad Press • 2012

DD ISBN $19.95

Advertisement Advertisement


Digital Download • Crossroad Press • 2012

DD ISBN $19.95

The latest audiobook reviews, right in your inbox.

Get our FREE Newsletter and discover a world of audiobooks.


AudioFile Newsletter

Let us recommend your next great audiobook!

No algorithms here!
We pick great audiobooks for you.
Sign up for our free newsletter with audiobook love from AudioFile editors.

If you are already with us, thank you! Just click X above.


Thank you for signing up.



Thank you for contacting us!

Our group will review and follow up within 72 hours.
Thanks for your interest!

Back Home ×