AudioFile - Find your next great audiobook
Get our Newsletter


by | Read by Wayne Shepherd

Inspirational Fiction • 3 hrs. • Abridged • © 1996

[Editor’s note: The following is a combined review with SOUND THE TRUMPET.]--The first two books in the Liberty Bell series recount the history of two virtuous orphans forced into the harsh streets of London. After their father’s death, Daniel and Linna Bradford’s mother struggles to hold the family together until she succumbs to illness. Her last words to her children are to believe in Jesus as their salvation, according to John 3:16, and to seek God’s will. They are accidentally separated for more than twenty years until they are joyfully reunited and learn that each has kept the faith and led a Christian life. Wayne Shepherd reads this smooth abridgment with a bright, friendly voice. He handles frequent, lengthy physical descriptions of characters without appearing to take a breath. However, his upbeat voice doesn’t adjust when the material is tragic, failing to convey appropriate empathy. A.G.H. © AudioFile 2001, Portland, Maine [Published: APR/MAY 01]

Trade Ed. • Bethany House Publishers • 1996

CS ISBN $14.99 • Two cassettes

Advertisement Advertisement


Trade Ed. • Bethany House Publishers • 1996

CS ISBN $14.99 • Two cassettes

The latest audiobook reviews, right in your inbox.

Get our FREE Newsletter and discover a world of audiobooks.


AudioFile Newsletter

Let us recommend your next great audiobook!

No algorithms here!
We pick great audiobooks for you.
Sign up for our free newsletter with audiobook love from AudioFile editors.

If you are already with us, thank you! Just click X above.


Thank you for signing up.



Thank you for contacting us!

Our group will review and follow up within 72 hours.
Thanks for your interest!

Back Home ×