AudioFile - Find your next great audiobook
Get our Newsletter


by | Read by Ann Beach

Fiction • 6 hrs. • Unabridged • © 1944

Writing as Mary Westmacott, Agatha Christie reveals a very different side. The six Westmacott novels, written between 1930 and 1956, feature more introspective plots and greater character development. But Christie is still Christie--even under a pen name her works make keen observations about people and the conflicts that arise between them. In this novel, Joan Scudamore reflects upon her life and her family while stranded between trains. Ann Beach illuminates Joan's growing acceptance of the uncomfortable truths of her life. The cutting remarks of her friend Blanche are delivered in the tones of the not-so-well-meaning friend. Well-defined secondary characters add warmth and realism to the story as Beach captures an East Indian railroad servant with a high, singsong voice and sketches Joan's fellow traveler, Princess Sasha, with a refined European accent. This quiet story speaks volumes about the underside of family relationships. G.D.W. (c) AudioFile 2001, Portland, Maine [Published: DEC/ JAN 02]



Retail pak • Audio Partners • 2001

CS ISBN 1572701994 $24.95 • Four cassettes

Get our Newsletter
Connect with AudioFile

AudioFile Newsletter

Let us recommend your next great audiobook!

No algorithms here!
We pick great audiobooks for you.
Sign up for our free newsletter with audiobook love from AudioFile editors.

If you are already with us, thank you! Just click X above.


Thank you for signing up.



Thank you for contacting us!

Our group will review and follow up within 72 hours.
Thanks for your interest!

Back Home ×