AudioFile - Find your next great audiobook
Get our Newsletter

THE FIFTH SEASON The Broken Earth, Book 1

by | Read by Robin Miles

Fantasy • 15.5 hrs. • Unabridged • © 2015

The first in a new trilogy, called The Broken Earth, is set in a world that is always on the verge of the apocalypse. It’s held together through the work of Orogenes, who travel the world and use magic to stabilize geologic anomalies. The storylines are set in differing time periods that weave together and cross one another. Robin Miles has an affinity for the three female narrators, who have varying points of view and distinct personalities and challenges. Her relaxed style helps to move along the world-building explication at a good pace and contrasts with the more intense segments in which she draws out the suspense and drama. Her sparing use of accents emphasizes the outsider status of some of the characters. J.E.M. 2016 Audies Finalist © AudioFile 2015, Portland, Maine [Published: OCTOBER 2015]

Trade Ed. • Hachette Audio • 2015

DD ISBN 9781478900832 $24.98

Advertisement Advertisement
The latest audiobook reviews, right in your inbox.

Get our FREE Newsletter and discover a world of audiobooks.


AudioFile Newsletter

Let us recommend your next great audiobook!

No algorithms here!
We pick great audiobooks for you.
Sign up for our free newsletter with audiobook love from AudioFile editors.

If you are already with us, thank you! Just click X above.


Thank you for signing up.



Thank you for contacting us!

Our group will review and follow up within 72 hours.
Thanks for your interest!

Back Home ×


Thank you for signing up!

Our group will review and follow up soon.

Back Home ×