AudioFile - Find your next great audiobook
Get our Newsletter

THE OBELISK GATE Broken Earth, Book 2

Earphones Award Winner

by | Read by Robin Miles

Fantasy • 13.25 hrs. • Unabridged • © 2016

The second title of the Broken Earth trilogy continues seamlessly from THE FIFTH SEASON, and listeners will want to start with that book if they haven't listened to it. Robin Miles continues as narrator, and the large cast of characters allows her to draw on her vast store of accents. Her narration is intimate and engaged, and she enriches the complicated relationships. She portrays the 10-year-old girl from whose point of view much of the story is told as intelligent and mature. Similarly, her depictions of older members of the community make clear their relative ages without exaggeration. Miles draws out the emotions--sometimes volatile, sometimes seething beneath the surface--as the complexities of this postapocalyptic world unfold. J.E.M. Winner of AudioFile Earphones Award © AudioFile 2016, Portland, Maine [Published: OCTOBER 2016]

Trade Ed. • Hachette Audio • 2016

DD ISBN 9781478964391 $24.98

Advertisement Advertisement
The latest audiobook reviews, right in your inbox.

Get our FREE Newsletter and discover a world of audiobooks.


AudioFile Newsletter

Let us recommend your next great audiobook!

No algorithms here!
We pick great audiobooks for you.
Sign up for our free newsletter with audiobook love from AudioFile editors.

If you are already with us, thank you! Just click X above.


Thank you for signing up.



Thank you for contacting us!

Our group will review and follow up within 72 hours.
Thanks for your interest!

Back Home ×


Thank you for signing up!

Our group will review and follow up soon.

Back Home ×