AudioFile - Find your next great audiobook
Get our Newsletter


by | Read by Kate Reading, Malcolm Hillgartner

Fiction • 10 hrs. • Unabridged • © 2021

In this story collection, prolific author Joyce Carol Oates explores "might-have-beens" among a variety of characters. Kate Reading provides a strong and steady narration, as usual, boldly putting forth Oates's direct syntax and a no-nonsense style. Narrator Malcolm Hillgartner has a more formal voice that keeps listeners at arm's length with its chilly tone. Both narrators are well-matched performers for Oates's tales of loss, disappointment, and regret. Whether the story follows one woman's examination of the life she could have had or revisits an older man's heartbreak, the audiobook is clear-eyed and methodical in its approach. Listeners are left to react with their own emotions. Reading and Hillgartner present the stories with a neutral clarity that suits Oates's work. L.B.F. © AudioFile 2021, Portland, Maine [Published: MAY 2021]

Trade Ed. • Harper Audio • 2021

DD ISBN 9780063035249 $26.99

Advertisement Advertisement
The latest audiobook reviews, right in your inbox.

Get our FREE Newsletter and discover a world of audiobooks.


AudioFile Newsletter

Let us recommend your next great audiobook!

No algorithms here!
We pick great audiobooks for you.
Sign up for our free newsletter with audiobook love from AudioFile editors.

If you are already with us, thank you! Just click X above.


Thank you for signing up.



Thank you for contacting us!

Our group will review and follow up within 72 hours.
Thanks for your interest!

Back Home ×


Thank you for signing up!

Our group will review and follow up soon.

Back Home ×