AudioFile - Find your next great audiobook
Get our Newsletter


by | Read by Raphael Sbarge, Lawrence Pressman, Gregory Itzin, and a Full Cast

Poetry & Drama • 1.25 hrs. • Audio Program • © 1964

In this dark character study, the first sounds the listener hears are faint music, then sirens, then the echoing frightened voices of detainees in a damp Nazi holding cell in Paris, 1942. They're the voices of men in trouble who are wondering how they'll survive and who is to blame. The despairing tones of an electrician (Arye Gross), a painter (Jon Matthews), a doctor (Raphael Sbarge), and six others who are arguing about who deserves to be sent to a concentration camp aren't pretty to hear, but they're mesmerizing. L.A. Theatre Works perfectly captures the black-and-white Cold War ambiance of this 1964 one-act classic. B.P. © AudioFile 2014, Portland, Maine [Published: MARCH 2014]

Digital Download • L.A. Theatre Works • 2002

DD ISBN $6.95

Advertisement Advertisement
The latest audiobook reviews, right in your inbox.

Get our FREE Newsletter and discover a world of audiobooks.


AudioFile Newsletter

Let us recommend your next great audiobook!

No algorithms here!
We pick great audiobooks for you.
Sign up for our free newsletter with audiobook love from AudioFile editors.

If you are already with us, thank you! Just click X above.


Thank you for signing up.



Thank you for contacting us!

Our group will review and follow up within 72 hours.
Thanks for your interest!

Back Home ×


Thank you for signing up!

Our group will review and follow up soon.

Back Home ×